Conversations on Healing With Virginia Harris CSB & a Pediatrician in Southern California

 

In treating patients, it’s vitally important to remove the patient’s fear and replace it with hope, expectation, courage, comfort. As this is done, as patients begin to lose their fear, they become much more receptive to healing.

In Science and Health, Mrs. Eddy includes an entire section called Mental Treatment Illustrated. She shows how to give a mental treatment. She instructs healers, “Always begin your treatment by allaying the fear of patients” (Science and Health, p. 411).

Fear is lessened and overcome in ourselves and in our patients as we gain that understanding of God as Love, the source of spirituality, and by finding that this Love is immediate, real, and ever present.

Virginia Harris, C.S.B.

Conversations

From a Pediatrician in Southern California

“As you know, I am a very scientific Jewish physician. I have great respect for Mary Baker Eddy’s teachings. The teachings that you personally helped me to understand recently saved my life. I have reread many times the written testimonial you presented to a previous Harvard conference, detailing your almost fatal accident. It helped me understand that God is love, God is everywhere, and that we are as connected to God as the rays of the sun are to the sun.

“The ideas in Science and Health have helped me make my belief in God more scientific. And just in time, too, because last summer, a motorboat started suddenly while I was standing on its bow, entangled in a rope that was attached to some sharp rocks. As I was jerked into the water to those rocks, my head came down on the jagged edges. I experienced intense pain while blacking out. But before I lost consciousness, I felt radical reliance on God. Some of the principles from Science and Health provided me the science I needed to create an instant treatment plan for myself. As I lay there, I heard a wonderful, assuring message say to me, ‘Be very still.’

“It took an hour to reach land. At the emergency room, to everyone’s surprise, they found very little wrong with me. And all during this time, I never lost sight of my complete, radical reliance upon God. And here I am, three months later, healthy, whole, and for the first time in my life, without fear.

“I know healing miracles occur all the time because patients have been telling me for 35 years, ever since I began practicing medicine. However, this is the first time, at least that I know of, that it has happened to me.”

Healing of Debilitating Headaches

I met Linda when she was 14 years old. She was suffering from what doctors had diagnosed as an arterial venus malformation. All of her life she had had debilitating and paralyzing head pains, and she’d missed a lot of school. She’d been receiving excellent medical attention, but the prognosis was one of little hope. Doctors said she would have to live with medication, CAT scans, and pain all of her life, and that she would never be able to have children. They proposed an experimental surgery that gave her only a 50 percent chance of survival. If she survived, she would have to have another operation within one week. The family was desperate.

Linda’s mother worked in the same office building where I had my practitioner’s office. One day she came to my office, related the story to me, and asked me if I thought her daughter could be healed. Linda and her mother came to see me the next day.

The family had no particular religious affiliation. Linda knew very little about God or about spirituality. As I visited with her, we talked about God. We talked about healing ideas in the Old and New Testaments. We talked about healing for her. We talked about what God is. She loved the idea of God as Father-Mother. She loved discovering that God was all-loving, that He was all-good. She also loved thinking of herself as the child of God, pure, perfect, loved.

And lastly, she loved the idea of the relationship that each one of us has with God. We talked about thinking of herself more spiritually and what that meant for her health. She was also beginning to learn, through our weekly appointments, how to pray for herself.

One day she came bounding in, and said, “I am feeling so much better. I am not having those headaches like I used to have. And because I’m feeling so much better,” she said, “I’m not having to take the medication.” Her parents were very encouraged, and so they decided to postpone the surgery. At that point they asked me if I would begin giving her treatment in Christian Science.

In treating patients, it’s vitally important to remove the patient’s fear and replace it with hope, expectation, courage, comfort. As this is done, as patients begin to lose their fear, they become much more receptive to healing.

In Science and Health, Mrs. Eddy includes an entire section called Mental Treatment Illustrated. She shows how to give a mental treatment. She instructs healers, “Always begin your treatment by allaying the fear of patients” (Science and Health, p. 411).

Fear is lessened and overcome in ourselves and in our patients as we gain that understanding of God as Love, the source of spirituality, and by finding that this Love is immediate, real, and ever present.

As I prayed with Linda, using some of these basic principles, she became receptive to healing.

This was early fall, and by Thanksgiving, Linda was completely healed. She never had to have the operations. The doctors named her the “miracle girl.”

Today, she’s the mother of two children. I see Linda from time to time, and recently I asked her, “Do you remember when the change occurred in your thought that brought healing?” She said, “It was when I felt that I was no longer vulnerable, that I was in charge of my body. Then I wasn’t afraid anymore.”

Copyright © 2014. Virginia Harris, CSB

Leave a Reply

