When we yearn to ‘do better’

“We are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.”

Maya Angelou

 

When we yearn to ‘do better’

Living Christian Science Today

As a public school teacher I always felt driven to “do better.” Each day I had this opportunity, but it was not easy!

To me, this yearning to “do better” involved seeing how I could more clearly express God’s love and grace as I taught my classes. That yearning was my prayer.

I’ve learned that challenges are not what they appear to be at face value.

Teaching was often challenging because I’d changed schools many times in my career, and I was also faced with some other troubling issues. As I strove to “do better” at really understanding my relationship to God, I began to take a closer look at my life, aiming to hold on only to what was spiritually true about me. In Retrospection and Introspection, Mary Baker Eddy says, “The human history needs to be revised, and the material record expunged” (p. 22). I realized I needed to use a spiritual lens as I was looking back at my life, replacing the material evidence with a fresh spiritual perspective, the only reality. This reality has everything to do with the total goodness of God and His creation, and is all about seeing the spiritual and “perfect model” of man as God’s reflection when it comes to others and ourselves (see Mary Baker Eddy, Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, p. 248).

So how do we “do better”? This quote from Science and Health explains: “If the disciple is advancing spiritually, he is striving to enter in. He constantly turns away from material sense, and looks towards the imperishable things of Spirit. If honest, he will be in earnest from the start, and gain a little each day in the right direction, till at last he finishes his course with joy” (p. 21)

 

 

Leave a Reply

