‘He didn’t jump’ – Q: How can I pray about the issue of suicide in my school?

 

Hope is the major weapon against suicide.  Faith and spirituality is an unobstructed path to hope.

Volunteer crisis intervention and suicide prevention counselor for LGBT youth.

Rob Scott

 

“Sometimes when things seem difficult in our human experience, we are inclined to discount this hope. We deny that it is legitimate or push it back as too good to be true, to be Truth.
  
“And yet it still remains there, ready for our acknowledgement. For that hope of good, peace, and joy, is God speaking to us, calling us to believe. And when we do, we find that that small drop of conscious awareness of God can’t help but overflow, filling us up with Truth and Love, and washing away the doubts and fears. This hope, this connection with God that material sense would hide, is our true guide and forever friend. It leads us home and impels us to bring healing hope, light, joy, and peace to others as well.”  

Laura Moliter, CS

 

Whatever happens, I hope that you will continue to hold on to hope too.  Even in our darkest moments, it is there.  And in all its tenderness and beauty, even if hard to see sometimes, it is life’s greatest gift.  A precious gift to share. 

Danielle Steel

 

This sentiment is shared by Shane Lopez, author of the book, Making Hope Happen.  CNN quotes Lopez, “there is a profound difference between hoping and wishing.  Wishing encourages passivity, whereas hope represents an active stance.  Wishing is fantasy that everything is going to turn out OK.  Hoping is actually showing up for the hard work.”

By June 12, 2013 11:55 am ET

 

Judy Collins sings “Wings Of Angels,” a tribute to her late son, Clark, who died by suicide in 1992.  Dedicated to all those LGBT youth who were unloved and unwanted by their human families and didn’t make it.

 

‘He didn’t jump’

From the teen series: Q&A – April 26, 2016

Q: How can I pray about the issue of suicide in my school?

A: Thank you for praying about suicide in your school. Just the other day, I saw a video featuring a mom whose teenage son had killed himself after being severely bullied. She said she wished that her son’s friends, who noticed him having a difficult time, would have said or done something to let her child know he was cared for. Your prayers are a way of caring for those who may be struggling with these same dark thoughts. And, as I learned last fall, prayer does have a tangible, healing impact.

I was driving along the highway to church one Wednesday night when I saw someone standing on the bridge above me. It looked as if he was standing on the other side of the railing—as if maybe he was about to jump. It was hard to see what was really going on, and there was no way for me to stop. But my thought went instantly to prayer. I had already been keeping my thoughts open to God during my drive, listening for God’s assurance that I was loved and cared for, as I was feeling down.

In that moment under the bridge, a line from a dearly loved hymn came immediately to mind: “Everlasting arms of Love / Are beneath, around, above” (John R. Macduff, Christian Science Hymnal, No. 53). My favorite synonym for God is Love, and in a split second, I got a completely new view of what it means to say that God is Love. To me, those “everlasting arms of Love” meant that Love is the only active presence, completely surrounding and tenderly caring for me and everyone, everywhere and always. I felt in a profound way that Love is in total control, every moment. No one can actually opt out of being loved by God. Love, being All, truly is all there is!

Several days later, I was still curious about whether I did in fact see a man on that bridge, so I did an Internet search on it. I found a news article that confirmed what I’d seen. Right around the time I’d passed under that bridge on Wednesday night, a man had, indeed, been planning to jump. However, an off-duty police officer talked with him for a while, and the man changed his mind, moved away from the edge of the bridge, and climbed back over the railing to safety. The article specifically noted that the officer hugged this man for a while. It was such a tangible reminder of how we’re never outside of Love’s embrace, and this was a message I so desperately needed to hear for myself that week, too.

  • Also, special thanks to the off duty police officer who talked with him for a while, and the man changed his mind, moved away from the edge of the bridge, and climbed back over the railing to safety.  Perhaps the police officer was an angel entertained unaware – Rob Scott

32128300422

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

