“To those leaning on the sustaining infinite, to-day is big with blessings”

 

When you do what you know God wants you to do, you are letting God’s love shine through. God needs you to express His love. What could be more important? Mrs. Eddy writes, “A single drop of water may help to hide the stars, or crown the tree with blossoms.”2

So, the next time you are tempted to think that you are only one and that your efforts do not count very much, remember … and remind yourself, “I am a key factor to God, and I am needed very much!”

From the July 7, 1986 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

 

Our most important job

From the August 18, 2014 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

I began to see that whatever else I did, my most important job was being the full-time representative of my Father-Mother God. In the end, I report only to God because He is my true employer. God gives each one of us a position that lasts not only over a lifetime but for eternity.

I saw that in my former job I had been neglecting the most important thing: listening to God and actively expressing God. I had fallen behind in staying in tune with my spiritual heritage and living that. I quickly saw that the termination was really a blessing in disguise. This obstacle in my path was really an opportunity to listen more to God in prayer and to grow spiritually.

Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy has this assurance: “Desire is prayer; and no loss can occur from trusting God with our desires, that they may be moulded and exalted before they take form in words and in deeds” (p. 1). I have found that prayer is actually a process of listening to God, not telling Him what we think we need.

When we are employed by God, when we see our life not as a daily drudge, carrying out routine activity merely to earn a paycheck, but see our role as individuals living to reflect goodness, mercy, tenderness, and selflessness, then our employment is full time and overflowing with good. And in that richly rewarding work, we are always cared for. As Science and Health observes, “To those leaning on the sustaining infinite, to-day is big with blessings” (p. vii).

%22Blossom cross%22 by Tony Lobl
Leave a Reply

