A Testimony of Hope on Father’s Day by Rob Scott

 

Sometimes when things seem difficult in our human experience, we are inclined to discount this hope. We deny that it is legitimate or push it back as too good to be true, to be Truth.”

And yet it still remains there, ready for our acknowledgement. For that hope of good, peace, and joy, is God speaking to us, calling us to believe. And when we do, we find that that small drop of conscious awareness of God can’t help but overflow, filling us up with Truth and Love, and washing away the doubts and fears. This hope, this connection with God that material sense would hide, is our true guide and forever friend. It leads us home and impels us to bring healing hope, light, joy, and peace to others as well. 

Laura Moliter, CS

 

.
I just finished my last day of teaching English before my students graduate from one of my classes. I asked the students to tell me one thing that they learned or will do differently as a result of being in my class other than the subject matter.

They responded with: “The power of hope” and to “Never, never, never give up.”

Afterwords, I was invited over to a married couple’s home for dinner.  They are current students at the same school and we have become close and even traveled through the Sierra Mountains (see photo below) the other week.  We hiked and had eaten fish cooked over a wood fire for dinner.  Being with them in the heart of nature was very healing.  Love was right there with us when I needed it most.

While at their home yesterday for dinner we were joined by the gentleman’s brothers and some of their families.  My friend shared that his own father walked out on their mother and eight children when he was ten years old.

I was awe struck by the closeness and love they all had for each other.  Family is most important in Mexico not material possessions.

They included me in their family gathering and I felt so much love that my heart ached when they drove me home after stopping at a peak over looking the city of Oaxaca (see photo below) during sunset.

I also couldn’t stop thinking of love expressed by my class earlier in that day.  I told them that experience and what I learned from them will be a major piece of the puzzle in my own life.

But I had a person write in the other day that perhaps I need to “take time off from posting my blog everyday to focus on taking care of Rob so he doesn’t burn out.”

My response is that some people are not “getting it”.  This blog sustained me during my darkest hours.  I was never drained or tired after posting.  It left me filled with hope and perhaps gave a voice to the voiceless or those we lost along the way in Orlando.

Healing was taking place even when I couldn’t see it myself.

Some people wrote in privately and publicly that it helped them too and stated why would you give your power away by worrying about what other people think.  The only one you have to please is God.  One reader stated that his mom now reads this blog everyday too.

This hope saved me and was tangible in my life.

Jesus gave us this extraordinary promise: “In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world ( John 16:33.  ).

Jesus’ disciple Peter understood this. He wrote, “Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you: but rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy ( Miscellaneous Writings, p. 107).

So how is this a Father’s day testimony?

Because “The Lord’s Prayer” starts with “Our Father”.

Thank you, God and Happy Father’s day.

Also, happy father’s day to my surrogate dad, Dell Yarnell,  who passed onward and upward last September as I held his hand.  There is no place I would rather have been than with him during his most desperate hour of need.

May God bless us all.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind.

Rob Scott

Oaxaca, Mexico

Leave a Reply

