Finding confidence in God, challenging hate and using failure with J.K. Rowling, Oprah and the CS Sentinel.

 

Winfrey: So you believe in a higher power?

Rowling: Yeah, I would say I do. Yes. And would I call it God, yes. For want of a better word sometimes, but yes. Yeah.

Winfrey: So the most important thing about that speech [Harvard] I think first of all you talked about how rock-bottom became the foundation from which you rebuilt your life. But the most important thing was about how to use failure.

Rowling: Failure. Failure is so important – it doesn’t get spoken about enough. We speak about success all the time, but, you know, I do not know any – I haven’t met – and I’ve been so fortunate and met extraordinary people through Harry Potter, and not one of them didn’t have their failure – more than one failure. And it’s the ability to resist failure, in many ways, or use failure that often leads to the greatest success, isn’t it? So, yeah. Failure. I’ve often met people who – who are terrified, you know, in a straight jacket of their own making because they’d rather do anything than fail. They don’t want to try for fear of failing. Well that’s the rock-bottom thing. Rock-bottom wasn’t fun – at all. I’m not going to romanticize rock-bottom, but it was liberating. What did I have to lose?

Transcript of Oprah Interview with JK Rowling – Harry Potter’s Page

 

“I think it’s important that scared gay kids who aren’t out yet see hate speech challenged.”

J.K. Rowling

Find confidence in God

From the July 18, 2016 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

Have you ever felt that you didn’t have much confidence in yourself, or that you used to be confident at one time but that your confidence has since been shattered by some difficult event? If we find ourselves in either of these positions, we may long to find or regain confidence and self-esteem, to be able to express ourselves freely without fear that we will be embarrassed or subject to criticism from others.

Before learning of Christian Science, I lacked self-confidence. As I studied Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy, along with my Bible, I found that the better understanding of God I was gaining was building up my faith in Him as an ever-present help in every area of my life. As the Bible states: “What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31).

The Bible teaches us many inspiring, healing lessons. Take, for instance, the story of Moses and the Exodus of the children of Israel. When God called Moses to lead the children of Israel out of slavery in Egypt, Moses had zero confidence that he could do such a thing (see Exodus, chaps. 3, 4).

It seems to me that, in this encounter with God, Moses was learning something not only about the nature of God but also about himself. God was rousing Moses to the spiritual understanding that he could never be without his divinely bestowed capacities. Moses had a purpose established by God, a purpose that was far more inspiring and also more challenging than anything he could have imagined he might accomplish on his own.

 

To read about the second coming of Harry Potter see link below:

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/second-coming-harry-potter-231100940.html

Leave a Reply

