Can I be accepted for who I am? How do you do it and why is it important?

 

Rob, The Church must atone for its sin to people of color (1926-1955) as well as its ongoing sin of exclusion and discrimination toward the LGBT community and read seriously what Mrs. Eddy wrote about the essence of identity, and what Jesus pointed toward in Matthew 19:12 that social and gender conditions are things we should observe but not judge. If we apologize not for our past and present “hardness of heart” any article lacks meaning.

…Christian Science Practitioner

July 13, 2016

 

* Dedicated to all of those who never had a voice, suffered in silence or whom we lost along the way.  You mattered and were loved.  Never “less than” or “unequal”.  Some of you were stripped of your support systems, church and family, and didn’t make it to the human sense.  But God was always there accepting you and loving you.  I understand that sometimes it was a teacher or parent who tried to take away your hope.  But don’t believe the lie and never, never give up! –  Rob Scott – Oaxaca, Mexico

RELATIONSHIPS

Can I be accepted for who I am?

From the January 1, 1999 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

I asked myself, “Is there someone who will accept me as I am, with no strings attached or criticisms?” The answer I finally came to was “Yes.” That someone is God, my real Father-Mother. I’m His/Her beloved child.

At the time, I was working as a pizza delivery driver. A large part of our delivery zone was considered a bad neighborhood because the crime rate was high. It was frustrating work. As drivers, we rarely got tipped and were often harassed. Each of us had been robbed at least once.

I then thought, “Well, this neighborhood is unsafe because the people are uneducated, or unemployed….” But every time I placed a label on this neighborhood, I was proved wrong! I was beginning to see that labels were barriers, blocking out the real definition of these people as God’s children, as “heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ” (Romans 8:17), as Paul also wrote.

I lived in a very diverse neighborhood. Armed with the spirit of Paul’s words, and free from the burden of labeling others, I became family with my neighbors. Now I could extend Paul’s list to encompass my own neighborhood family. It would probably read like this: “There is neither Latino nor Anglo, gay nor straight, Catholic nor Baptist, rich nor poor, smart nor ignorant, old nor young, married nor single: for we are all one in Christ Jesus”!

Have people stopped labeling me? No. Have they stopped trying to change me? No. But I don’t feel helpless about these labels anymore. I feel accepted and loved by God for who I am. You can, too.:)


7dd8cd2b47b0ab65432dc138f22f0925

2014-06-25-10426787_10152220257843963_3855324056539493192_n-thumb-1

Leave a Reply

