But we are still here. That’s something. The Road to Recovery after Suicide.

 

“Suicide and Suicide Risk in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Populations: Review and Recommendations,”

Key Findings and Recommendations:

Although multiple studies point to elevated rates of depression, anxiety and substance abuse among sexual minority people, the panel found that these problems, by themselves, do not account for the higher rates of suicide attempts that have been reported by LGBT people.

THUS, the consensus report identified Stigma and Discrimination as playing a key role, especially acts such as Rejection or Abuse by Family Members or Peers, Bullying and Harassment, Denunciation from Religious Communities and Individual Discrimination.

The Journal of Homosexuality

January 2011

*

I have found the following to be true when helping others regardless of the healing profession.   Talking about the act (suicide), as in the movie, with someone else who has been there, will be the road to recovery. 

As Tyler Perry further states: Forgiveness is important in families, especially when there are so many secrets that need to be healed–for the most part, every family’s got them.  

My own mother is locked in a self-imposed prison of her own making with her father’s secrets from what she found after his death.  To the human sense this allegedly destroyed our family as she directed all that anger for her father onto me during my developmental years.  This resulted in my own  failed suicide attempt.  But something serendipitous came out of it.  I went on to become a crisis intervention and suicide prevention counselor for LGBT youth for one year so that what happened to me doesn’t happen to other youth.  As one youth stated after helping him: “You are authentic”.

Sometimes we need to shine a light on such dark topics to be free.  They say one is only as sick as their secrets.  This was one of the last conversations I had with my mother many years ago.

So Perhaps healing can be about acceptance and surrender and loving someone enough to let them go forever.  It is in standing still that one finds the truth not in running.  But that is impossible to explain to anyone.  I have to find the answers for my self no matter  where I have to go to find them and until then I will never be free.

2d40eb6b-f5da-428e-9bb2-5715587e1a5a-1

.
on November 16, 2014
Movie review of “Shrink”.

A well played look at suicide and it’s impact on the human psyche. I was enjoying the movie as it was, but the well intentioned (by the actors and story) but disastrous intervention scene caught me off guard.

I felt like I was kicked and knocked off my feet.

People die, and whether young or old there is usually a good reason, illness, accidents or even a victim of crime. But suicide, what rational person could ever consider such an action.

I am a two time suicide survivor. Long ago my father, not so long ago my daughter. When the details of Dr. Carters wife’s death emerged in the intervention scene, well to say emotion evoking scene is a bit of an understatement.

However I am surviving and this film, for me, captured many of the essences and nuances of the road to recovery. Talking about the act (suicide), as in the movie, with someone else who has been there, will be the road to recovery.

Though at times I was left in tears, I was pleasantly surprised on how good of a film this ended up being. There is life after deep personal loss. As in the film Spacey’s character Dr. Carter find’s the light at the end of the tunnel, so have I. The message is life goes on and there is a period of grief that must be endured, however not kept to yourself.

Well played mix of comedy and drama, at times I laughed, at times I cried. Robin Williams small part, so well played in light of his recent death. Sometimes the student is the teacher, so well played by Spacey’s relationship with the young woman Jemma who lost her mother. He was not taking her case seriously till he actually read her file and learned he did not have the monopoly on grief for the victims of suicide.

quote-i-don-t-think-life-is-absurd-i-think-we-are-all-here-for-a-huge-purpose-i-think-we-shrink-from-norman-mailer-117742
Leave a Reply

