A desire to heal from a grateful heart

 

“A Christian Scientist is a humanitarian; he is benevolent, forgiving, long-suffering, and seeks to overcome evil with good”.

(Mary Baker Eddy, pp. 46–47).

Manual of The Mother Church

*

I was touched by a former student who purchased a book at the university book fair and presented it to me yesterday.  He is a student who was kicked out of his former school and learned some hard but valuable lessons from that experience.

When he was in my class I saw leadership in him and he rose to the occasion and became one of my strongest students and now wants to make a difference by helping people here in Mexico.  He thanked me for believing in him as he is now in training to be a teacher.

So he gave me a book on helping others and stated he saw that active desire in me to help others.   He suggested perhaps I could share some of the benevolent stories from the book with my classes similar to the stories I shared with him and our class back when I was his teacher.    He “got it” as he understood the power of hope and never giving up.

He also learned who his friends and family were after getting kicked out of his previous school.  Sometimes trials and tribulations are life’s best teachers and teach us lessons that we couldn’t have learned in our Father’s house.

But perhaps the power of hope and never giving up can be taught to get us through those trials and tribulations.

I have hope that he fulfills his dream or calling by making a difference for the people in Mexico by giving them a voice and being a force for good.

Remember, hope is a good thing.  I learned that as a crisis intervention and suicide prevention counselor for youth.  Hope is the most powerful weapon against suicide.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind,

2d40eb6b-f5da-428e-9bb2-5715587e1a5a-1

A desire to help and heal

From the September 2016 issue of The Christian Science Journal

As a practitioner I have witnessed God’s healing work through the experiences of individuals sincerely seeking answers and help. I am deeply and humbly grateful for the ever-present Christ at work, and for all the good that follows when we seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and know God to be All-in-all.

When I was praying about going into the public practice of Christian Science, I prayed with a poem by A. E. Hamilton that Mrs. Eddy quotes at the end of her book Retrospection and Introspection (p. 95):

Ask God to give thee skill
In comfort’s art:
That thou may’st consecrated be
And set apart
Unto a life of sympathy.
For heavy is the weight of ill
In every heart;
And comforters are needed much
Of Christlike touch.

I prayed with this poem every day. I thought this was a good description of the motivations for Christian Science practice. As a practitioner, I understand the “life of sympathy” to mean a life of compassion, filled with the desire to comfort others, not with human pity (as I may have previously understood the idea of sympathy) but with Christlike affection and healing prayer. This distinction between human pity and Christlike, healing love has meant a lot to me as a practitioner. We read in Science and Health: “If the Scientist has enough Christly affection to win his own pardon, and such commendation as the Magdalen gained from Jesus, then he is Christian enough to practise scientifically and deal with his patients compassionately; and the result will correspond with the spiritual intent” (p. 365). A desire to help others in this deeply Christian way is my continued prayer.

meme(1)

Leave a Reply

