A Lesson About Family by Rob Scott, CS.

 

I was asked by the university to take a conversation class which starts at 7:30 AM.  Thus I have to get up at 5:00 AM every morning.  I agreed to take the class because it was a “conversation class”.

One thing I have learned from my students in Mexico is the strong love most of them have for their family.  Some even made me feel part of their family and included me in activities with them.

I gave this class an assignment to speak about something they were passionate about and to describe why they chose their particular topic and how it was meaningful to them.

One young man discussed the following topic.  His parents got divorced and as a result he and his older brother became very close.  They had to lean on each other to get through it.  So to show their bond for each other they both got similar tattoos.

My student got a nautical tattoo with an anchor because he was the one who grounded his older brother by helping him through his anger problems after the divorce.

His older brother got a tattoo symbolizing the helm of a ship.  He chose it because he steered his younger brother,  my student, out of depression after their parent’s divorce.   

But what moved me to the core was that they both had the courage to stand up to their father who scolded them due to the poor stereotypes of people with tattoos.  This led to a class discussion about being respectful of others which I best demonstrated to them by using the Golden Rule in a vocabulary exercise.

The brothers stood their ground for what they believed in and tried to educate their father not to stereotype people.  Perhaps this could be a metaphor for marriage equality.

The class then asked me if I had a tattoo to which I responded no.  I did not discuss it any further.

However, I would like to get a tattoo of the cross and crown which symbolizes Christian Science. 

I hope CS will always be a part of me as I had to fight to hold onto it.  Christian Science is my hope which is alive and healing. 

Another student spoke on protecting the animals and is getting his masters to fulfill his niche.  He stated a lot of people fear what they don’t understand like snakes, spiders and bats.  All of which he tries to save by educating people on their usefulness for the environment.

I will miss them after they graduate.

One person who finished  a different  conversation class last Saturday grabbed me and hugged me when I said goodbye as he has reached the end of his studies at the university.  I had to pull away to fight back the tears.  He knows I blog as I discussed it with him without mentioning the title or content because he wants to be a writer.  He expressed his curiosity in finding and reading my blog.

Hmmmmmmmmm.

I prayed to God to bless this blog.  I know He has already done it.

See class photo below.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind.

2d40eb6b-f5da-428e-9bb2-5715587e1a5a-1

20160909_084342

Leave a Reply

