This [Bigotry] is an attack on Christian Science.

*

“We don’t want gays and lesbians in our church.”

…CSB during class instruction in 1988

2d40eb6b-f5da-428e-9bb2-5715587e1a5a-1

From the October 2016 issue of The Christian Science Journal

While driving to work and engaged in my usual practice of praying in preparation for my shift, I was startled at what I was receiving from divine Mind. Usually my prayers lead me to a sense of peace and an expanded capacity to extend compassion. But in this particular instance, my thoughts were those of a Christian soldier marching off to war, as if trouble was brewing. Certainly there could be no trouble in God’s kingdom, yet I felt a sense of being propelled to pray about protection. I remember wondering aloud, “What is going on?”

Shortly afterward, while responding to my first patient call of the evening, the patient called me the “n” word and told me to get out of her room.

I alerted other Christian Science nurses who were also on duty that evening so that the patient’s immediate needs would be addressed. Then I phoned the patient’s Christian Science practitioner to request her help to ease the patient’s agitation. The practitioner agreed to pray and asked me to call her back at the end of the shift. When I called back later that evening, there was a palpable pause before the practitioner spoke. I sensed she was wondering how the statement she was about to make would resonate with me. Her prayerful insight was, “This is an attack on Christian Science.”

Her words resonated! I had often lamented what seemed like a lack of diversity in the Christian Science community, so, upon receiving the practitioner’s helpful insight, I was awakened by the thought, “Good try, devil, but it’s too late; I’m already ‘in love,’ ” meaning I was already ‘in love’ with practicing Christian Science; I was already deeply committed and devoted to its teachings and also knew that I lived in divine Love, where evil has no power or influence over me.

poetsmask

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

