A way out of Suicide with Mrs. Eddy, William Rathvon, Oprah and Maya Angelou.

 

A definition of “to hope” is “to trust with confident expectation of good.” That hope is necessary Mrs. Eddy makes plain in the following statement: “Knowledge that we can accomplish the good we hope for, stimulates the system to act in the direction which Mind points out.”

Mary Baker Eddy

(Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, p. 394)

*

Gratitude is much more than a verbal expression of thanks. Action expresses more gratitude than speech.

Mary Baker Eddy

(SH 3:25)

 *

“You [Devil] say you use this wedge of discouragement [hopelessness] with nearly everybody. With whom can’t you use it?” 

The Devil hesitated a long time and finally said in a low voice, “I can’t use it in getting into the consciousness of a grateful person.”

William R. Rathvon, CSB -1912

*

 

 

There was a time when I was in a state of utter despair, immersed in guilt over promises made on which I had not delivered. I went to my vocal coach, Fred Wilkerson, weeping copiously. He asked what was the matter. I responded, “I’m going crazy. I am almost at the brink of suicide.” He offered me a legal-size, lined yellow pad and a pen. He said, “Write down your blessings!” Furious that he didn’t understand my condition, I shouted, “Don’t talk nonsense, I’m telling you I am going crazy.” He said, “Write down that you could hear me say ‘write down’ and think of the millions who cannot hear the cries of their babies, or the sweet words of their beloveds, or the alarm that could help them seek safety. Write down that you can see this yellow pad and think of the millions on this planet who cannot see the smiles of their growing children or the delight in the faces of their beloveds, or the colors of the sunrise and the softness of the twilight. Write down that you know how to write. Write down that you know how to read.” Wilkie, as he was known, gave me that lesson in 1955. Fifty-five years later, I have written 31 books, essays, plays, and lyrics for songs — all on yellow pads. I remain in an attitude of gratitude.

— Maya Angelou

Resultado de imagen para quote - hope is the major weapon against suicide

gratitude-diary350

Leave a Reply

