I’m 16 years old, gay, a junior in high school and scared about what is going to happen to us under this new government.

 

As I watched a TV program laced with anger over government policies and positions of elected officials, I started to feel angry. My insides tightened, and I became critical and gloomy about my country’s future. The more I listened, the angrier I got.

To break free from being mesmerized by the on-screen rage, I prayed to see God, and not someone else’s political opinion, as the one true Mind that really guides each of us—everyone. God as Mind is Love (see I John 4:8), and Love does not impart hatred, fear, and intimidation. The one Mind that is Love governs with understanding and care.

Mary Baker Eddy wrote, “Love must triumph over hate” (Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, p. 43). It’s the primal nature of God’s man to love, not to be angry and mad. We all reflect the one Mind, divine Love, which we can turn to in keeping our thought at an inspired height that feels and knows God’s presence. This in turn dissolves fear and opens our perspective to discern doable solutions. Impelled by divine Love, in the face of anger we can choose to express that love, rather than to hate; and thus, we can be a healing influence.

From the January 30, 2017 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

 

Published on Jan 25, 2017

Faculty co-directors Sarah A. Soule and Tom Wurster share how this program is addressing the significant gap in leadership among lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people, and those who consider themselves queer or questioning in the C-suite. Learn more: http://stanford.io/LGBTQ

 *

New era stokes gay teen fear

January 26, 2017 at 1:04 pm EST | by Michael Radkowsky

 

I’m 16 years old, gay, a junior in high school and scared about what is going to happen to us under this new government.

I’ve lived in a red state my whole life, not the most gay-positive atmosphere even in my hometown but my public school has a gay-straight alliance that has been a lifesaver. It gave me a safe and protected place to come out. Having other kids to talk to and also our advisor (a teacher) helped me feel I’m just fine. I got a lot of support from them that helped me come out to my parents, who have been supportive.

Even if some people in town are homophobic, for as long as I’ve known I’m gay (five years) I’ve known it’s really fine to be gay from TV and from our government, starting with the President. Of course I’ve heard stories of the old days when people had to be in the closet and faced all kinds of discrimination. I’m grateful to have been growing up in a time when we’ve gotten equal rights.

My phone screensaver is a picture of the White House lit up in rainbow colors for the legalization of gay marriage.

Since Trump won I feel like we are getting sucked back in time. It’s so scary to hear about all these homophobic people he is appointing to run the government. If the federal government is against gays, I’m afraid that America will turn against us again and we will no longer be able to live openly in peace. I’m thinking they’d definitely shut down our group at school.

I can’t really focus and I’m not sure what to do.

http://www.washingtonblade.com/2017/01/26/new-era-stokes-gay-teen-fear/

Image result for hate doesn't put out hate only love odes
Leave a Reply

