Appreciated Congratulations – When Hope and Gratitude are enough!

 

So, dear young friend, cultivate joy, hope, faith. Life lies before you glorious; banish the shadow, seize the substance thereof, and God, good, is with you alway.

From a letter dated 1896

*
Gratitude is much more than a verbal expression of thanks. Action expresses more gratitude than speech.

Mary Baker Eddy

(SH 3:25)

 *

 

Recently, when my load seemed so heavy that I needed a sympathizing friend, some Scientist to bring words of encouragement, I opened the book to these words, “O may the love that is talked be felt! and so lived, that when weighed in the scale of God, we be not found wanting. Love is consistent, uniform, sympathetic, self-sacrificing, unutterably kind, even that which lays all upon the altar and speechless and alone bears all burdens, suffers all inflictions, endures all piercing for the sake of others and the kingdom of heaven’s sake.” I had found my need supplied through impersonal Truth.

Surely we can say with the apostle, “Thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

When I have thought of writing it would seem my message would not justify my taking so much of your time, but the gratitude of my heart must be expressed. It is my prayer and hope that your followers may all be faithful, so there may be no need of the patient rebuke, “Could ye not watch with me one hour?”.

Trusting you may read this message of love and gratitude, I am in humility and love.

Faithfully your follower, Ada G. White

From the March 11, 1905 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

Image result for oprah quote - if your prayer is enough that is enough
Leave a Reply

