Adele + My Students – When We Were Young – Live at The BRIT Awards 2016

Something in her voice that makes you believe in love in a world of hate, hypocrisy and lies .

Zie El Ham

*

Adele – When We Were Young – Live at The BRIT Awards 2016

Excerpt below from the song.

[Pre-Chorus]
You look like a movie
You sound like a song

My God, this reminds me
Of when we were young

[Chorus]
Let me photograph you in this light
In case it is the last time that we might
Be exactly like we were before we realised
We were sad of getting old, it made us restless

It was just like a movie
It was just like a song

[Verse 2]
I was so scared to face my fears
Cause nobody told me that you’d be here
And I swear you’d moved overseas
That’s what you said when you left me

[Refrain]
(When we were young)
(When we were young)
(When we were young)
(When we were young)

[Bridge]
It’s hard to admit that everything just takes me back
To when you were there, to when you were there
And a part of me keeps holding on just in case it hasn’t gone
Cause I guess I still care, do you still care?

[Breakdown]
It was just like a movie
It was just like a song

My God, this reminds me
Of when we were young

 

Photo (below) Students from my Class:  

I had half the class before and most of them failed their exam but requested me again as their teacher.  Most all of them then went on to pass the second time around.  I asked them why they chose me as their teacher again.  One of the reasons stated: “Because we grew with you as our teacher and we got better at speaking English.”  

Some wanted to drop out mid way through the class. But I empowered them to stay and not give up as they were gaining momentum and I believed in them.  Also, there were some older students in the class who seemed to have a grace and wisdom that can only come with age.  

Perhaps the song is not just about being young.  But seeing promise, potential and hope in our youth.  There is a sacredness in it that I could not see in myself at their age.  Perhaps the lesson is that same sacredness exists in all ages right here right now.

I will miss them all.

Leave a Reply

