HRC + Message to the CSPS & CSBOD’s on healing bigotry.

 

The Manual of The Mother Church by Mrs. Eddy, under the heading “Church Periodicals,” states (Art. VIII, Sect. 14), “And it shall be the duty of the Directors to see that these periodicals are ably edited and kept abreast of the times.”

Mary Baker Eddy

*

Several articles and editorials have been written explaining why homosexuals cannot be admitted to membership.  One of these I wrote myself, the title: “Homosexuality Can Be Healed.”  All I can say in defense of myself for writing it is that it was based on information I thought was authentic, but which later was disproved …  If I were to write another article on the subject now, I would probably entitle it, “We’re ALL God’s Children.”

by Carl J. Welz,  C.S.B.

*

Those outdated, antigay CS articles (based on human opinion and not the writings of Mrs. Eddy) have destroyed careers and ruined lives.

I approached the microphone and addressed over 800 people at Midwest Church Alive in 2014. Several members approached me later and stated some of their children have left CS altogether because of those articles.  Some were even gay them-self and stated either they or their children were harmed as they struggled with their sexuality because of those anti-gay articles.

We are all loved unconditionally and never separated by our Father-Mother God.  

Why a label you ask?  Exactly, as it was those who were told by the Church to write those articles who labeled us “less than” or “unequal” and in NEED of healing for being different which is a lie.  None of the people who wrote to me found love in those articles or the damnations against the LGBT community given by some CSBs in their association addresses. None.

My parents mailed copies of those anti-gay articles to me years ago in the mail which had a negative impact on my mental health and well being.

Perhaps somebody could write a new article on marriage equality to neutralize the damage being done by those outdated articles that are based on human opinion and not the writings of OUR only Leader, Mary Baker Eddy.   They were written years ago and published by the CSPS.  None of those aticles are timeless or universal.

Perhaps the message is that we are all more alike than unalike.

But I urge caution in finding the right person to write the article.  Just because somebody is LGBT and has a so-called story doesn’t qualify them to have their article chosen for publication.  Perhaps we need to watch and pray like we do when  finding the right CS practitioner.  Perhaps it could be written by an LGBT ally within the movement.

We are ALL equal and loved unconditionally by God.  Should’t this be reflected by the structure of Truth and Love?  Shouldn’t this be reflected by our human families?  Perhaps we need to look at our past to uncover our errors.  

Yes, Christian Science is Perfect.  But the people speaking on its behalf not so much.  I honestly believe Mrs. Eddy would respond to them by saying – NOT in my name!

This is for all our yearning brothers and sisters who love (or feel drawn to love) that Science that is so healing to every heart.  Perhaps some who were attracted to this healing Science left once they can across those anti-gay articles or bigotry from church members performing badly used Christian Science as reparative therapy.  I wonder what happened to some of them?

 *

Our branch church closed recently because we focused on us and not on our community.

Attendee, Midwest Church Alive

2014

 

Video – America Ferrera HRC 2017 speech – 

Published on Mar 20, 2017

My high school drama teacher created a safe space for me when I was struggling with feelings of depression and isolation.  It was the first time I felt like I was going to make it.  She opened a dialogue of equality and she has transformed her campus into a safe one for all her students and colleagues.  I am proud to know her and grateful for the role she played in helping me find my voice.  Something bigger than myself is helping me show up with a voice for what I know is right.

America Ferrera, HRC 2017 Speech

Rob, The Church must atone for its sin to people of color (1926-1955) as well as its ongoing sin of exclusion and discrimination toward the LGBT community and read seriously what Mrs. Eddy wrote about the essence of identity, and what Jesus pointed toward in Matthew 19:12 that social and gender conditions are things we should observe but not judge. If we apologize not for our past and present “hardness of heart” any article lacks meaning.

… CS Practitioner, USA

July 13, 2016

*

…the prejudices associated with Lady Astor go against the grain of Christian Science, the faith she leaned on. If it were otherwise, I’d never have embraced Mary Baker Eddy’s writings.

I took to Eddy’s ideas precisely because they teach of God’s love for all and challenge the deep-rooted resistance we might feel to expressing such universal and impartial love. I badly needed that help as a Jew facing anti-Semitism in 1970s London, because my fear had turned to hatred.

Like Astor was, I’m working out my salvation step by step. But that healing idea of an all-inclusive, divine Love is central to the Christian Science practice I know and love.

Nancy Astor – letter and article on a unique glass … – TonyLobl.com

Tony Lobl, CS/COP

August 1, 2016

*

Would you care to mention any personal experiences you’ve had in coping with racial discrimination?

Alton A. Davis:  I’ve had many, and I hope I have learned more of the meaning of love from each experience. I once visited a Christian Science church where I was told that the custom of the community did not permit the races to mix in church services. Seeing that I was a black man, an usher met me on the sidewalk and asked what I wanted.

“Is this not a house of God?” I answered.

“Yes, it is,” he said somewhat sheepishly.

“The invitation read by your First Reader at each services, ‘All are welcome’—is it real?” I went on. “I am a weary traveler seeking a cup of cold water in Christ’s name.”

From the August 30, 1969 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel

 *

(CS Journal Interviewer): It’s amazing to me to think that in the Christian Science church, prejudice could ever have taken such a foothold as to cause a need for specifically black churches. Such prejudice seems to go entirely against the ethics of Christian Science. I’ve heard stories of blacks sitting on one side of the church, and whites on the other side, but you weren’t even at the same church!

Bettie Thompson (Christian Science practitioner and teacher Bettie Thompson is a black woman who witnessed the civil rights movement):  

Well, let’s move ahead a few decades. In 1980, I was appointed the first African American lecturer on the Christian Science Board of Lectureship. I was just about to go on my first lecture tour. It was a Friday, and I was leaving home on the following Monday. But then I got a call from The Mother Church, saying, “Bettie, we’ve got some sad news. There’s a church in Oklahoma that has canceled.”

Here I was all excited, and I had butterflies in my stomach as I was about to leave on my first tour. But I was just told, “A lady called and said when the church got your material in the mail, they discovered you were black.”

From the August 2013 issue of The Christian Science Journal

*

I believe the time has come to end the harmful teachings by some religious denominations that being gay (LGBT) is a sin, or whatever words they use to demean, call evil, and cause enormous pain to LGBT people, especially our youth. More and more people are changing their minds….from evangelicals to Presbyterians to Catholics to Conservative Jews.

History has proven that using religious teachings to cause enormous harm to innocent people is wrong. I have faith in America to be better to all its citizens – but especially innocent, vulnerable youth.

Mitchell Gold
Founder, Faith In America

September 15, 2015

                                                                                  *
1001669_1_amelia-newcomb_standardAnd take a look at our graphic below. You might not have thought that marriage equality legislation could drive down youth suicide rates. But it looks like it has, particularly for sexual minorities. Check it out – and be reminded of what a “you are welcome here” sign can make in a young person’s confidence and desire to excel. 

Amelia Newcomb

Senior Editor with The Christian Science Monitor‘s EqualEd section

February 23, 2017

Leave a Reply

