Ellen DeGeneres Speaks about Christian Science – Plus A CS Response.

 

Last Update on April 2, 2017 at 5:20 pm

 

I was blessed to have had an amazing grandmother who was a Journal listed CS Practitioner.  She was pure love and my family was strong with her in it.   Our family collapsed to the human sense without her and her right thinking which lifted up our family with the proper use and understanding of CS.  Yes, she even expressed human emotions such as love and compassion.

Love is the hallmark of Christian Science as without it it can seem “cold, pulseless and inanimate” according to our only Leader, Mary Baker Eddy.

I even remember my grandmother taking her sisters on one last trip before they passed onward and upward.  She literally looked years younger than them in a photo due to her right thinking from CS.

My grandmother was the real deal and our lives were full of love and the healing that came with it from God.   She just reflected it ALL back.

And not a day goes by I don’t think of all that love and healing.

I know I am always connected to her through this Love.  As a result, Christian Science became a light for me when all other lights went out.

I found my own niche by giving a voice to the voiceless even when there was pressure not to by sharing this Science which is so healing to those thirsty for a cup of cold water.

My motive is pure.

I am grateful for this healing Science as I continue to work out my own salvation with it.   My own mother did not have a proper understanding of Christian Science by ridiculing gay people or those she perceived to be gay while I was growing up and in my developmental years.

Thus I had to throw out the bathwater and keep the baby so to speak.  Or perhaps she threw me out for being gay.

I’ll always remember her last words before I left for college. “Being gay is the most horrible thing a man can be”.

My father made the following observation.  He said he suspected an acquaintance  of our family may be a lesbian because she lived in a major city and never dated.  He then laughed and stated:  “She probably has AIDS.”  He then retold the same  comments again because nobody else laughed or responded to his so-called joke.

I attempted suicide several months later.

During class instruction my own teacher stated: “We don’t want gays and lesbians in our church”.

Sometimes this healing Science can get lost along the way from the ignorant messenger performing badly used Christian Science and expressing false human opinion.

I understand the pain caused by the “people” not practicing properly used Christian Science.

For example, Mrs. Eddy never would have authorized those antigay articles which appeared from the CSPS in the 1970s-2000.  The Mother Church recently  removed one of its antigay blogs on reparative therapy as it was harmful to those struggling with “equality”.

Those articles were mailed to me by my family and only contributed to self-harm behavior.  I am not alone in these stories.

I honestly believe Mrs. Eddy’s message to those authors who wrote them and used them as a tool for reparative therapy would be, Not in my name!  We take the inspired word of the Bible.

We are ALL God’s children never separated right here, right now.  I suspect some practicing Christian Science have been loving but treated gay people as if they were in NEED of healing which would make them feel broken, less than or unequal.  None of the LGBT children or adults heard love through those articles.  None.

I share these stories not to blame, criticize or condemn.  But so that we can uncover these errors and heal.

Perhaps the next generation will do things differently so our brothers and sisters won’t have to suffer in silence or feel there are no options for them but suicide.

Perhaps another lesson on this issue can be found in a quote below from one of my favorite and admired authors, Danielle Steel.   She was a student of CS at one time. Perhaps it’s impossible to unknow the Truth.

Something else occurred to me today, about how easy it is to shut down and shut people out. To shut out an entire group, a race, a nation, a family, a social group because we have been hurt by one person in that group. It is much easier to shut the door on a whole group, than to recognize that we have been injured by one person, who so poorly represented their ‘group’ and hurt us. I think we have to try to keep the doors open, of our minds, our hearts, our lives, not to generalize, or condemn an entire group for the sins of one person.

Danielle Steel,  http://www.daniellesteel.net/41315-hope/

Video – To commemorate President Obama’s last day in office, Ellen took a look back at some of her favorite moments with President Obama and the First Lady.  Thank you, Ellen, for all you have done to help our community and for being a pioneer and coming out even when there was pressure not to.

*

‘On DeGeneres comments’

To the Editor,

In her recent Parade Magazine interview, Ellen DeGeneres speaks of her childhood and her parents’ religion.

I can’t speak to her family’s situation. I can say that pretending to be happy when one isn’t, or merely telling oneself that “everything is fine,” isn’t what Christian Science teaches.

Jesus told his followers to “abide” in the love he was showing them, so that “my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.” No more than other Christians do Christian Scientists equate this abiding joy with mindless happy talk, or psychological repression, or refusal to deal with negative feelings and aspects of human life.

Honesty is expressed freely by those who are getting to know themselves. Christian Scientists see this as getting to know themselves as God knows us — not as damaged, inadequate mortals, but as the spiritual likeness of God, wholly beloved.

DeGeneres explained of her TV show, “It is a happy show, on purpose. . . .” And it certainly is. How important to know that happiness doesn’t have to be forced and ultimately has its source in an infinite Love that encompasses everyone.

Keith Wommack

Christian Science practitioner and teacher

 

http://www.waxahachietx.com/opinion/20160618/on-degeneres-comments

‘On DeGeneres comments’

Parade Magazine

Ellen DeGeneres Talks Feelings, Fun and Finding Dory 

June 10, 2016 – 5:10 AM  –  See Excerpt Below

Ellen DeGeneres is a lot like the cartoon fish she gives life to in Disney/Pixar’s Finding Dory, opening June 17. Much like Dory, whom we met in the hit 2003 movie Finding Nemo, DeGeneres, 58, is undaunted, kind, strong and loving, swimming on despite the obstacles in her way. But unlike Dory, whose amnesia causes her to remember almost nothing, DeGeneres remembers a whole lot.

The native of Metairie, Louisiana, hasn’t forgotten the slow road to fame in the 1990s and how her first prime-time comedy series, Ellen, was abandoned by advertisers and the TV network when it flopped, capsized in part by backlash and negative response to her “coming out” as TV’s highest-profile lesbian. Like Dory, she swam on. She went back to doing stand-up comedy, created her own afternoon-TV talk show and hosted the Emmys, Grammys and the Academy Awards—twice.

In 2008, DeGeneres married Australian actress/model Portia de Rossi, 43. Both vegans, they share a passion for animal rights, environmental causes and renovating houses. Parade’s Dotson Rader met with DeGeneres in her office on the back lot of the TV studio complex in Burbank, California, where The Ellen DeGeneres Show has been produced for 13 years.

What was your childhood like? Was it fun?
I grew up in a very conservative home. My father was a first reader in the Christian Science Church, which is similar to being a preacher. There was no drinking, smoking or cursing. I didn’t see deep emotion from my parents. It was all very polite and very surface. I never knew how anybody was feeling. Because of that religion everything was fine all the time.

Isn’t it dishonest to pretend you’re happy when you’re really angry?
Exactly. I never saw anyone angry—so when I was 13 and my parents divorced it was a huge surprise to me because I was told everything was fine. It was very confusing. That’s not a healthy way to grow up. It was very hard to express yourself. A kid should be told that you can have feelings. I have a lot of feelings. You can feel sad and angry and hurt. But the only feeling that was approved of is happiness—that was it. How can you have happiness when you’re not honest?

How did that emotional repression affect you?
As a young girl, I noticed things a lot more. I started seeing that things weren’t completely as everyone said they were. I noticed everything because I had to after my parents divorced. At 13, I sort of became the parent, taking care of my mother.

Did that experience influence your comedy?
I think my comedy came from observing little details in life. What is most important are the details, not the broad strokes but noticing what’s in between. One of my first jokes was the fact that when somebody tastes something disgusting, they always want you to taste it too, like, “This is disgusting—taste it!” And people do.

Why could you see what others never saw?
Because I was very tender. I was very sensitive, and I still am. I never want to hurt anybody. I want to make people laugh. I didn’t think it was ever funny to make fun of people. There’s so much to laugh at without it being at someone else’s expense.

You end each TV show by telling your viewers to be kind to each other. Why is kindness so important to you?
Because I’ve been treated in a way that has not been kind, respectful or considerate. I learned compassion from having experienced some bad stuff.

Were you surprised when ABC abruptly canceled your hit sitcom after your character came out?
It was a sucker punch. I didn’t expect it. I knew that there was a big chance that this was the end of my career. But I’m grateful for it. I got to start over again and create this talk show. There are people who don’t know about the sitcoms, or my stand-up comedy. They think I’m just a talk show host. That’s fine with me.

.
Your show seems unrelentingly happy. It is a happy show, on purpose. I represent happiness to a lot of people. I want to keep myself as open and as nonjudgmental as possible. Before the show was picked up, I think a lot of station managers thought I would have an agenda to try to somehow turn the world gay. People did worry. Our only agenda is to make people feel good. It’s an hour of joy.

Your audience squeals with excited delight a lot. There are people from all over the world who wait three years for tickets. I was in Dubai and this woman said she’d been trying to get tickets for five years. That’s why I created the room [for] leftover people who can’t get in. Tom Hanks named it the Riff Raff Room.

https://parade.com/482237/dotsonrader/ellen-degeneres-talks-feelings-fun-and-finding-dory/

Ellen&Dory-FTR  

Leave a Reply

