Back To The Future & A Second Chance – “I’m late for school!”

 

Rob,

P.s. I hope my mother prefers that I could be your assistant (I want to be) and once again thank you, you are the best English teacher I have ever had. 

Student

 

Video – “Back To The Future” – ‘I’m late for school!’

Published on Aug 29, 2012

*

Diversity “makes us who we are,” Obama said at the 2017 School Counselor of the Year event in the East Room of the White House, where she hosted 50 school counselors and a slew of stars. “Don’t ever let anyone make you feel like you don’t matter, or like you don’t have a place in our … story [or your church]. You do.”

First Lady Michelle Obama said at the 2017 School Counselor of the Year event in the East Room of the White House.

*

…  hitch your wagon to something bigger than yourselves. This generation coming up – unselfish, altruistic, creative, patriotic – You’ll soon outnumber any of us, and I believe as a result that the future is in good hands. 

President Barack Obama’s farewell speech Tuesday night in Chicago, IL

*

I feel that I am having a second chance to heal a time in my life back when I attended the developmental years of high school and college which was disrupted by my mother who ridiculed gay people or anybody she perceived to be gay.  That experience attempted to destroy my self esteem and only repressed feelings of homosexuality.  

My teacher during CS class instruction only contributed to these feelings of hopelessness by stating: “We don’t want gays and lesbians in our church” during the last day of class instruction.

But now this current experience has made me realize were are all unique and more alike than not.  This allowed me to see the sacredness in my students that I could see in myself at their age.  

The youth today are more accepting and compassionate of social issues such as marriage equality.

Perhaps this experience provided an opportunity to resolve this hardship and adversity by healing this wound from my youth.  

Leave a Reply

