Practice ‘dissolving’ hate! Let’s Start With The CSPS.

 

Several articles and editorials have been written explaining why homosexuals cannot be admitted to membership.  One of these I wrote myself, the title: “Homosexuality Can Be Healed.”  All I can say in defense of myself for writing it is that it was based on information I thought was authentic, but which later was disproved by further studies.  If I were to write another article on the subject now, I would probably entitle it, “We’re ALL God’s Children.”

by Carl J. Welz,  C.S.B.

Houston, TX – October 11, 1986

*

Johnson and Robb were just teenagers when they were catapulted to the White House after JFK’s death, and remember well their father’s mission to end racial segregation in America. The sisters also suggested that they believe their father would support the spirit of what many advocates have embraced as the civil rights issue of this century: gay marriage.

“I think my father felt very strongly that when there was bigotry anywhere, prejudice anywhere, all of us lose out,” Johnson said. “Because it’s just one more expression of hate.”

https://www.yahoo.com/news/katie-couric-lbj-daughters-civil-rights-interview-001003293.html

Message to CSPS Take Down those antigay articles that have ruined lives and destroyed careers. “Because it’s just one more expression of hate.”  There is nothing in the writings of Mrs. Eddy to support them and you are pushing out a group of people who could benefit from this healing Science. Mrs. Eddy would say to the CSPS for the posting of those harmful articles: “Not in my name!” …to injure no man but to bless ALL Mankind.

 

Practice ‘dissolving’ hate!

From the July 2002 issue of The Christian Science Journal

Hate is like sediment in water. It builds up layer upon layer to “clog” the natural flow of relations between individuals or groups till situations explode. There is, however, a way to permanently remove hate. It is to dissolve it with another element—to break it down to the point that, first, it can no longer resist, and then isn’t there anymore. This hate-dissolving element is the love that accompanies the recognition of God’s presence even in desperate situations. I have seen it work over and over again.

Certainly, my colleagues and I were taught some very useful and practical steps as part of our training. But I felt I needed something more. And I drew a lot of inspiration from an idea that I found in reading the book of Psalms in the Bible. What struck me was the thought that everything bad, negative, or evil eventually yields and disappears when it comes up against God’s loving presence.

I particularly liked the word majesty as it referred to God. Wherever I would go—crossing a checkpoint, negotiating with army representatives, registering political detainees, or dealing with refugee camps—I could picture the irresistible power of God’s loving presence making everything else give up, simply because nothing could take the place of God’s majesty.

This was not some kind of a vision, where I would actually see things. Rather, it was a simple prayer to God to help me recognize that His love fills all space, and that there is nothing else. I didn’t try to change all the bad things into good ones, but only to understand that hate and tension could not be where God, infinite good, already was.

*

1001669_1_amelia-newcomb_standardAnd take a look at our graphic below. You might not have thought that marriage equality legislation could drive down youth suicide rates. But it looks like it has, particularly for sexual minorities. Check it out – and be reminded of what a “you are welcome here” sign can make in a young person’s confidence and desire to excel. 

Amelia Newcomb

Senior Editor with The Christian Science Monitor‘s EqualEd section

February 23, 2017

.

Image result for gay killings and concentration is Chechnya
Leave a Reply

