A Mother’s Day’s Message About Hope, Healing, Danielle Steel & My Heroines

Last updated 8:14 pm – May 9, 2017

Oaxaca, Mexico

 

An Interview With the Incomparable Danielle Steel

POPSUGAR

PS: If you could have any superpower in the world, what would it be, and why?
DS: It would be a healing power. I’d want it for the good it would do for those you love and even those you don’t know.

PS: What is the best thing anyone’s ever said to you about your books?
DS: It’s that they love them. But more than that, I write about the things that happen to us all. The things that are tough, the things that matter, from a loved one fighting an illness, to losing a job, being betrayed by somebody you trust, all parts of the human condition. No one is exempt from those things.

So often people tell me: you got me through this, you’ve really helped me. And I never realized that part of what I do is that I give people hope. By sharing an experience, or creating an experience that we all go through where the character survives — though not easily, I always say that it’s victory at a price — does give people hope. That is what touches me most. When somebody says: you really made a difference. To be able to touch lives, and touch a life that you don’t even know, is an extraordinary thing.

I guess in a funny way, I touch more people than I realize. A little bit of that healing power that I wish I had.

https://www.popsugar.com/love/Danielle-Steel-Interview-2017-42983455

*

5/8/17, Happy Mother’s Day

Posted on May 8, 2017

by Danielle Steel

Hi Everyone,

… I realize too that it’s not always an easy day. If your own mother is no longer around, it can be a hard day, or if the relationship with your mother is not an easy one (I’ve had that experience too). There have been some very important ‘adopted mothers’ in my life, growing up and as an adult, women who became extraordinary friends and role models for me, and whom I love and admire still to this day. Even if we don’t have a present mother, or an easy one, other sometimes older women can come into our lives and be an important force in our lives for love and support. And I’m very, very grateful to the women who did that for me and some who still do.

So whether you celebrate with your own mother, or a stand-in mother, or a favorite aunt, whether you are a mother yourself or not, it’s an important day to celebrate some of the relationships we have with other women who are important to us, or to be motherly ourselves for someone who needs us in that role, whether we are related by blood or not.

I hope this Mother’s Day will be wonderful for you, and that the special relationships in your lives that celebrate mothering in some way, will nurture you, or that you will be nurturing someone else.

Have a great day!!! And a wonderful week ahead, much love, Danielle

http://www.daniellesteel.net/5817-happy-mothers-day/

*

Photos Below – My hero, the late Journal listed, CS Practitioner & grandmother (Jean L. Widell) plus photos from the Mary Baker Eddy home tour several years ago.

Jean was my mentor to the human sense. Thank you, God. She was the real mother love and support in my life who gave me the gift of Christian Science.  It became a light when all other lights went out. She always wore lots of bracelets like Danielle steel who was also a student of Christian Science at one time.

Danielle Steel’s writings are all about the Christ message of finding hope and healing in the heart of darkness. Happy Mother ‘s Day, Danielle.

You even got your hands dirty by helping the homeless by preparing them duffel bags with the essentials for survival while my own branch church did nothing after I left my job because honesty leveled wealth.  A duffel bag like that at my most desperate hour of need would have meant the world to me as I am sure it did to the homeless you served.

You demonstrated the following quote by Mary Baker Eddy that inspired you and was posted by you on your blog in a previous post:

Love is not something put upon a shelf, to be taken down on rare occasions with sugar-tongs and laid on a rose-leaf. I make strong demands on love, call for active witnesses to prove it, and noble sacrifices and grand achievements as its results. Unless these appear, I cast aside the word as a sham and counterfeit, having no ring of the true metal. Love cannot be a mere abstraction, or goodness without activity and power. As a human quality, the glorious significance of affection is more than words: it is the tender, unselfish deed done in secret; the silent, ceaseless prayer; the self-forgetful heart that overflows; the veiled form stealing on an errand of mercy, out of a side door; the little feet tripping along the sidewalk; the gentle hand opening the door that turns toward want and woe, sickness and sorrow, and thus lighting the dark places of earth” .  

Danielle, you demonstrated this statement by being an angel entertained unaware in your labor of love (see link below).  Yo angel!

Also, Happy Mother’s Day to all the women in my life who served as Christian Science practitioners and teachers (the good ones) who helped me over the years even when there was pressure not to due to my so-called sexuality.

Excluded from this is my own teacher from class instruction who revealed the following on the last day of class: “We don’t want gays and lesbians in our church.”  I am not alone as others have written to me sharing similar stories of terrible things said by their teachers about gay people which continue even today at association meetings.

Imagine what Mrs. Eddy and Christ Jesus would have said to them for excluding a group of people who could have benefited from this healing Science that is so dear to every heart.

Or perhaps these thirsty seekers turned to the CS periodicals only to find they were in NEED of healing for being gay after finding antigay articles posted on JSH Online.  There is nothing in Mrs. Eddy’s writings supporting those articles according to the Senior Researcher of The Mary Baker Eddy Library.  But those articles have destroyed careers and ruined lives.

One individual even took his life shortly after class instruction while trying to pray away the gay with CS used as a tool for reparative therapy  There are others who went on to attempt suicide.  But the truth is that they were all born perfect regardless of who they loved.  They just believed the lie that they were “less than” or “unequal”.

Perhaps by exposing and uncovering these errors the next generation and the generation coming behind them will learn from these sad plights and treat their children differently by loving them unconditionally.  A child who reads those antigay articles,  hears antigay statements at their association meetings  does not hear love.  This is hate speech and an act of bullying.

This is for all those LGBT youth and adults this Mother’s Day who never had a voice, suffered in silence, were driven to utter destitution after being kicked out of their homes or whom we lost along the way to the human sense.

Why a label you ask?  Exactly, as you were the ones who labeled us “less than” or “unequal” and a lot of you did it with such easy arrogance.

The real bullies were my own mother and teacher from class instruction.  Imagine that!

Family and religious rejection can destroy all hope.  And hope is the major weapon against suicide.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind,

@Glowimages: A Mother’s Unconditional Love

Leave a Reply

