A Healing Idea as today is Mother’s Day in Mexico

 

…  hitch your wagon to something bigger than yourselves. This generation coming up – unselfish, altruistic, creative, patriotic …You believe in a fair, just, inclusive [world]; … and you are willing to carry this hard work of democracy forward. You’ll soon outnumber any of us, and I believe as a result that the future is in good hands. 

President Barack Obama’s farewell speech in Chicago, IL

*

Class Photo

 

Today is Mother’s day in Mexico.

An idea came to me which I wanted to share.

It has brought me healing since I have had no contact with my biological mother for years and usually fall into despair on Mother’s Day.

So I had an idea come to me to expand my involvement in the community this Mother’s Day by promoting peace and love from my students to their moms.

A relationship with the mother should be the most sacred one in the world to the human sense.

First, I asked some questions to confirm that that they all lived with their moms and wanted to do something good for them on mother’s day.  They were all in agreement.

Next, I asked my students in a couple different classes to write a Mother’s Day card to their mom in English.  They were all excited and asked me to write something to get them started.

I wrote the following on the board:

“Thank you mom for giving me the opportunity to learn English and I have the best English teacher at my school.”  This got lots of laughs as they started writing away.

Some asked me for help with their grammar and some even shared their cards with me.

For example, one student wrote about how he fell into depression in his earlier years after a breakup and expressed gratitude to his mother for loving him right right out of the despair.

Several others talked about how their mothers helped them get through the difficult times in their lives by being there for them.

I was truly happy for them as they all had great moms and were extremely grateful for this exercise.

Knowing this will have a ripple effect when all their moms receive a hand written card tonight from their child brought me great joy.  After all, who sends a “hand written” card now a days expressing love and gratitude?

If you want to know where the “hope” is in the world look no further than our youth as Obama so eloquently stated in his quote above.

Love is reflected in love and it FEELS healing.

Happy Mother’s Day.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind,

Image result for mothers day
Leave a Reply

