Happy Father’s Day in Loving Memory of the Late Delbert Yarnell

 

“There is one possible moment, when those living on the earth and those called dead, can commune together, and that is the moment previous to the transition,—the moment when the link between their opposite beliefs is being sundered.” 
Mary Baker Eddy
Science and Health, p. 75;

*

You said and did more than enough, and helped me.  If you want to know, I got the email from Mary at work on Monday and when I got home at 11:30 pm, cried all night.  I am so happy that Dell did not die alone, that you were there with him.  It means so much that people are there who we love.  You were right, love was in that room..why would you want to go outside?  It was a blessing that you met Dell for both of you and that he was not alone.

There are some events that are guided by that Greater Power.  

Bless you Scott.  Have a beautiful day.

Mary Ann

09/27/15 at 9:07 AM

*

First, special thanks to the CS practitioner who was the first person I called the night of my surrogate father’s death.  She wrote a beautiful e-inspire that day which gave me the strength to see through the false evidence as I knew there was no death just a passing onward and upward.  This e-inspire was posted again latter on in my blog and appears at the link below.

https://seekeroftruthrfs.wordpress.com/2016/03/25/good-friday-strength-courage-and-reliance-by-laura-moliter-cs-dell-yarnell/

Also, Special thanks to the chaplain on duty who prayed out loud with me in her office the following day (Sunday) when I went back to retrieve Dell’s belongings after attending a service at the CS branch church which Dell enjoyed attending. 

For the first time ever the security staff was unable to locate the deceased belongings and as a result sent me up to the nursing floor at the hospital where I broke down from grief.

But I ironically bumped into our chaplain who stated she witnessed one of the most beautiful metaphysical experiences in her five years at the hospital with us both.  She immediately rushed me into her office and shut the door while we prayed together for over 20 minutes.

God gave me that opportunity to be in the room and hold Dell’s hand through his passing. In some strange way knowing that helps sustain me now and I lost my own fear of death. 

After  we finished praying there was a knock at the Chaplain’s door from an officer with Dell’s belongings.  The nurse asked how he found me.  He simply replied that he reviewed the security tapes.  His eyes were misty which made me realize he must have viewed me break down crying while he reviewed the tapes before I was then led into the Chaplain’s office.

Had Dell’s belongings been there on time there would never have been the opportunity to have spoken  with the chaplain who comforted and prayed with me during my hour of human need.

Dell was the only family I had at the time.

Perhaps both of these strong women were angels entertained unaware.

Happy Father’s Day, dad.  You were with me everyday in my heart when I was a teacher in Mexico.  I even told stories with your mannerisms as you were a teacher yourself.  It payed off in a very big way that was valued above rubies.  Love was reflected in love.

Amen.

Truth, Wisdom, Love and Sincerity, to ALL Mankind,

06/16/2017

at

10:11 pm

 

  • This is the story of Seth (Nicolas Cage), an angel who wanders the Los Angeles area invisible to humans. As the demise of an individual approaches, he spends time near them and becomes visible while acting as their traveling companion during their trip to the great hereafter.  This was evidenced in Dell’s hospital room before his passing and supports Mrs. Eddy’s quote cited above.

 

Elegy for Delbert Yarnell

by Rob Scott

Saturday, 26th September, 2015

Levere Memorial Temple, 1856 Sheridan Rd., Evanston.

 

Thank you for giving me the honor to talk for a few minutes as we celebrate a special person, someone we knew and admired – Delbert Yarnell. It seemed like just yesterday when he and I roamed this beautiful chapel and the halls together. It was the day before the wedding of one of his Masonic brothers.

I quickly came to love Dell as he had a pure heart, good laugh and “gave a sense of play to the lives of those he loved”. (Chicago Tribune Obituary – Laura Moliter)  We met at a time that was difficult for me. I had gone through changes in my personal and professional life. Dell listened and gave me his loving counsel without ever judging me. I even began to call him “dad” because of the way he treated me and the feelings I had for him. At the same time he also reminded me of a younger brother who was mischievous but in a very good way. He taught me patience and the importance of good humor. I guess you can say he was my family and we were inseparable. I felt a sense of home with him.

I learned about the Freemasons through Dell. He has introduced me to some of you, and I appreciated your kindness for including me in some of your activities.

Dell and I both loved Christian Science, and we discovered some important connections between the Masons and Christian Science. The discoverer and founder of our faith had close ties to your organization.

Mary Baker Eddy’s first husband was a Mason. He died young, leaving Mrs. Eddy pregnant and alone in South Carolina. The Masons came to Mrs. Eddy’s aid, helping her reunite with her family and face the future. She appreciated this kindness and wrote in the Christian Science bylaws that the Freemasons were an organization members of The Mother Church could also join, which would let Dell be part of both groups.

Concern for the “stranger, the fatherless, and the widow”—the poor and outcasts of society—appears repeatedly in Scripture.

Another similarity to the Masons is the symbol for Christian Science which is also the cross and crown. In this symbol the crown stands for victory over death which Dell never doubted.

The fact that the Christ, or Truth, overcame and still overcomes death proves the ‘King of terrors’ to be but a mortal belief, or error, which Truth destroys with the spiritual evidences of Life, and this shows that what appears to the senses to be death is but a mortal illusion, for to the real man and the real universe there is no death-process.

Mary Baker Eddy (Science and Health 289:14)

One of my happiest times with Dell took place this past summer. We attended our second Masonic meeting together in Springfield, Illinois.

Special thanks to the Masons who took great care of us and provided safe passage for Dell and I. Dell had me tuck away a blue blazer and pin stripped shirt for the VIP reception. There was love there at our dinner tables at a time in our lives when we both needed it the most.

Dell dressed as Abraham Lincoln and recited the Gettysburg Address the following day. Everyone was impressed by his spirit and energy. None of us knew how much Dell was struggling with his health. On that day, he became America’s greatest president entertaining the Masons, their wives and friends and letting us all relive one of the most famous speeches in our country’s history: “ALL men are created equal.”

Shortly after the trip to Springfield, I learned how ill Dell was. I drove him to radiation treatments and respected his decisions as his conditioned worsened. Our spirits were kept high by my reading of the Christian Science Bible lessons to him and reading a daily blog I write for our faith. I spent almost every day with him demonstrating that love doesn’t stop at the hospital door.

Dell never showed fear or despair. During that time, I remembered how Dell would comfort others, including people who were facing death, by reading Mrs. Eddy’s interpretation of the 23rd psalm which I will now read:

PSALM XXIII Science and Health by Mary Baker Eddy

SH 578:4-18

[Divine love] is my shepherd; I shall not want.

[Love] maketh me to lie down in green pastures: [love] leadeth me beside the still waters.

[Love] restoreth my soul [spiritual sense]: [love] leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for [love] is with me; [love’s] rod and [love’s] staff they comfort me.

[Love] prepareth a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: [love] anointeth my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house [the consciousness] of [love] for ever.

[pause]

Many of you know that Dell made several changes to this psalm but the most memorable change to verse, “I walked through the valley of the shadow of death.” He substituted the word danced for walked.

Dell once told me something that I will never forget: “Hearing is the last human sense.” When Dell was in his final days and could no longer speak and seemed unconscious at times, I read Mrs. Eddy’s interpretation of the 23rd Psalm to him and emphasized the word danced. His smile at that precise moment told me that he could understand and was with me.

Dell’s death made me sad because I lost a father figure. But that feeling quickly went away. I left the hospital and body behind feeling empowered by the memory of a man who was all about life and hope and the future. I miss him so very much.

This taught me – and probably taught many of you – that love outlasts death which reminds me of the interview Oprah did with JK Rowling in Scotland and is available on youtube. Many of you probably know Rowling as the author of the Harry Potter books.

I’ll read a short excerpt below:

Winfrey: In my magazine I do a column at the magazine called ‘what do you know for sure’?

Winfrey: But what do you?

Rowling: Well, I definitely know that – that love is the most powerful thing of all and I remember thinking that – God, I’m about to make myself cry but, I remember thinking that when 9/11 happened because those last phone calls were about – the last thing knowingly, that I’m going to say on this earth is “I love you”. What’s more powerful than that? What’s more proof than that? Beyond fear, beyond death.

Rowling: Love wins. It does win. We know it wins. When a person dies, love isn’t turned-off like a faucet.

For me that is the greatest legacy Dell has left as some of our last spoken words to each other were: I love you. He kept trying to say that even after he couldn’t speak.

Thank you, dad, for waiting for me to arrive at the hospital before the last dance. I no longer fear death. There was no place on earth I’d rather been than holding your hand as you passed onward and upward.

Dad, you also mentioned as I was with you in the hospital during one beautiful, sunny day that perhaps I wanted to be out there to which I responded: Dad, there is nothing out there.

Love was right there with us and we were together.

I want to close by thanking the Masons for giving me this chance to honor Dell and celebrate his life. In all of my encounters with the Masons, I have felt nothing but love and fellowship. My memories of Dell will always be linked to your organization and Christian Science.

I will always hold you all in my heart for the kindness you have shown me and the man who was my surrogate father, Dell Yarnell. This shows that love makes a family.

To the members of his lodge, Oriental 33. He loved you all and use to tell me how much you all loved hearing his stories about “Benny the Beak.”

Perhaps Benny the beak is leading Dell all the way Home as Dell dances along the way.

We will always be connected to Dell through love.

Love Wins!

May God bless us all, and the people we serve.

Amen.

Rob Scott

*Masonic funeral under the auspices of Oriental Lodge, No. 33, on Sat., Sep. 26 at 6:30 PM at Levere Memorial Temple (see photo below), 1856 Sheridan Rd., Evanston.

Yarnell, Delbert “Dell” – Legacy.com 

 

 

 

IMG_3461

The_Temple_by_dogeatdog5

SCAN_20160622_162634859

Leave a Reply

