Dogs are part of God’s Kingdom

 

Mary Baker Eddy in Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures: “All of God’s creatures, moving in the harmony of Science, are harmless, useful, indestructible” (p. 514). 

 

Video – Dedicated to my late lab, “Candy” and Niewlha from Mexico .

 

Dogs are part of God’s Kingdom

by Rob Scott, C.S.

Boothbay Harbor, Maine

 

 

 

 

 

 

I became a dog lover in my early childhood when my parents brought home a Labrador Retriever which was a puppy at the time when I was only 12 years old.

My mom did not want it running through her new home so they put it behind a gate in the kitchen entrance hall for the night.

But the dog would cry all night long and I knew at the time that she wouldn’t last long like this in our house as both my parents worked.

So I would sneak downstairs and hold her and she would instantly stop crying and quickly fall asleep in my arms.  This continued for several nights before I finally would sneak her upstairs and place her on the end of my twin bed where she stayed until I left for college at age 18.

I remember that she brought such harmony and joy into our home.  Love was reflected in love.

She chose me as “pack leader” because when our whole family arrived home she would bypass everyone and come right to me to express love with kiss’s and joy. Only after did she visit the rest of the family.

When I was teaching in Mexico, God brought me a dog even when I wasn’t looking for one.  I didn’t have to find her.  She just came to me!  Perhaps it sensed we both needed love.

There are a lot of stray dogs in Mexico.  A student once told me the government tries to round up a lot of them for “disposal” before a major tourist attraction comes to the the state.

Niewlha is her name.  They labeled her a street dog.   She found me one day while waiting for the bus.  The family that owns the store near the bus stop had a daughter who took her in and then didn’t want to care for her for various reasons.  So she basically returned this dog to the care of the “store” where the owners fed her but made her sleep outside at night.

She always came over to me and put her head in my lap and expressed love before and after teaching.  I would hold her and wished I could bring her to school with me.

After that she would follow me where I would sneak her into the entrance hall where I lived and just love her for a few minutes and then walk her back to the store.

Soon there was a whole posse of other dogs that she ran with which surrounded me with love.

The owner where I was staying saw her in the entrance hall one evening and scolded us both and made it clear that no dogs allowed anywhere in his condo.  I thought this to be strange since the owner suggested getting a dog before my arrival in Mexico.  But I was grateful to have a roof over my head at the time.

But his didn’t stop the love with Niewlha  as she would then greet me in the darkness of the early morning hours while I waited for the bus to teach my 7:30 am classes.  As a result, there were days when I arrived to school with paw prints on my dress shirt and tie to teach class.

And some evenings she would be right there when I arrived back at night to greet me.

Anytime I had to purchase any food at the store she would also visit me.  There was so much love reflected back from each other.

A student once stated how surprised he was that I adjusted so well to Mexican culture.

It was Divine Love that was with me and it showed up in tangible ways to meet the human need.

Everyday when I arrived at school it was like walking into a bundle of love from my students.

I found it in Niewlha and late night candlelit talks  on the phone with a person I call “Night Ranger” who use to work for The Christian Science Monitor, TMC and the BA.  Our nightly talks continue to this day.

Healing came in moments of prayer and even bitter tears after learning of my grandfather’s suicide.

There were CS practitioners that helped me through the difficult times too.

I am grateful, God.

I now watch after a rescue dog that belongs to the son of the captain of the ship we sail, on the days I work the booth selling tickets.

Photo below is Niewlha: I miss you.

Leave a Reply

