Why me? Tony Lobl, Associate Editor

Dear God,

May I not take this precious Truth and give it to my brothers and sisters? 

From a letter to Mrs. Eddy in June 1906

 

 

Video – Published on Dec 17, 2016

First Lady Michelle Obama: “Hope Is Necessary” | Oprah Special | Oprah Winfrey Network

***

Why…?

I have given the name to all the Christian Science periodicals. The first was The Christian Science Journal, designed to put on record the divine Science of Truth; the second I entitled Sentinel, intended to hold guard over Truth, Life, and Love; the third, Der Herold der Christian Science, to proclaim the universal activity and availability of Truth; the next I named Monitor, to spread undivided the Science that operates unspent. The object of the Monitor is to injure no man, but to bless all mankind.

—Mary Baker Eddy, The First Church of Christ, Scientist, and Miscellany, p. 353

Why me?

From the August 2017 issue of The Christian Science Journal

Perhaps you have had questions like “Why should I read the Christian Science periodicals?” “Why should I write for them?” “Why should I prayerfully support them?” or “Why should I share them?”

Each of these “Why me?” questions could have many unique “because” responses.

But one broad “because” is true in respect to all these “whys.” Because God loves you. God loves you so much that He has led you to the revelation of Christian Science and to engage with a unique set of publications that bring Christ-healing when we read them, when we write for them, and when we prayerfully support and share them. The more engaged we are, the more blessings accrue.

And we’re not talking about blessings just for reader, writer, pray-er, and sharer! The blessings multiply. The reader’s uplifted thought, the writer’s uplifting ideas, and the prayer and sharing that uplift others’ lives—all these forward humanity’s salvation from sin, sickness, and death by bringing to light our spiritual lives as God’s forever-loved children.

Another kind of “Why me?” might come from hearts struggling with a material sense of hopelessness. One loving response is to answer the call to read, write for, and share these magazines with a joyful “Yes, me!” knowing that our periodicals bring to light the spiritual awareness that God loves all mankind.

Tony Lobl, Associate Editor

 

Related image

Leave a Reply

